AAADD

This is not mine, but with the magic number 40 heading my way any day now I have been thinking about this for some time. By freak accident, whilst looking for something else I found this after days of fruitless searching on the internet. Quite ironic considering the subject! All those of a certain maturity or busy-ness should appreciate this a great deal! 🙂

AAADD

Recently, I was diagnosed with:

A.A.A.D.D. – Age Activated Attention Deficit Disorder

This is how it manifests:

I decide to water my garden. As I turn on the hose, I look over at my car
and decide it needs washing.
As I start toward the garage, I notice mail on the table that I collected
from the letter box earlier.
I decide to go through the mail before I wash the car.
I lay my car keys on the table; put the junk mail in the rubbish bin under
the table, and notice that it is full.
So, I decide to put the bills back on the table and take out the rubbish
first.
But then I think, since I’m going to be near the post-box when I take out
the rubbish anyway, I may as well pay the bills first.
I take my cheque book off the table, and see that there is only 1 cheque
left.  My extra cheques are in my desk in the study, so I go inside the
house to my desk where I find the can of coke I’d been drinking.
I’m going to look for my cheques, but first I need to push the Coke aside so
that I don’t accidentally knock it over.
The Coke is getting warm, and I decide to put it in the fridge to keep it
cold.
As I head toward the kitchen with the Coke, a vase of flowers on the worktop
catches my eye – they need water.
I put the Coke on the worktop and discover my reading glasses that I’ve been
searching for all morning.
I decide I better put them back on my desk, but first I’m going to water the
flowers.
I set the glasses back down on the worktop, fill a container with water and
suddenly spot the TV remote control.
Someone left it on the kitchen table, I realise that tonight when we watch
TV, I’ll be looking for the remote control,
but I won’t remember that it’s on the kitchen table. So I decide to put it
back in the den where it belongs, but first I’ll water the flowers.  I pour
some water in the flowers, but quite a bit of it spills on the floor.   So,
I set the remote control back on the table, get some towels and wipe up the
spill.

T hen, I head down the hall trying to remember what I was planning to do.
At the end of the day:
– the car isn’t washed
– the bills aren’t paid
– there is a warm can of Coke sitting on the worktop
– the flowers don’t have enough water
– there is still only 1 cheque in my cheque book
– I can’t find the remote control
– I can’t find my glasses
– and I don’t remember what I did with the car keys.

Then, when I try to figure out why nothing got done today, I’m really
baffled because I know I was busy all day, and I’m really tired.
I realise this is a serious problem, and I’ll try to get some help for it,
but first I’ll check my e-mail.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AAADD

  1. Elizabeth says:

    A smile spread across my face as I read the second sentence. This is me, every day! Yet, I am almost 9 years younger than you so count yourself lucky it’s only happening to you now lol!

    Like

  2. jacqui says:

    Ha ha. Love it. And they say life begins at 40:)

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

