Introducing…miniposts to kenthinksaloud

To say thank you to those of you who have subscribed to  (‘follow’) this blog I have decided to try out a new ‘minipost’ idea where I will write, midweek, a shorter post (500 words or less) that will be semi-private. Not promising I will do this every week – let’s call it ‘semi-regular’ for now!

I say semi-private because I won’t advertise the miniposts myself (on facebook etc.) and only my subscribers will receive notifications for each new minipost but that doesn’t mean visitors to my blog won’t be able to read it. I hope some of you will choose to share it on your own blogs or on facebook, Twitter etc. The aim is to give a little extra to you who have committed to supporting this blog – I hope you like it!

Usually, miniposts will be a continuation of things I have written about before but they may also feature something topical – a festival or something in the news. I hope you will contribute – share ideas for future posts/miniposts and enter into these discussions. As always, these posts will be a pot pourri of ideas – but always linking to Bangladesh where I work and Britain, my birth country, as well as issues of education, community and life in general really!

You may query my definition of ‘midweek’ seeing as I am writing this on a Tuesday morning. I should explain to western friends that in Bangladesh (and elsewhere) Friday is the ‘day off’ and Sunday is a working day. Hence, my posts come out around Thursday-Saturday for the ‘weekend’ and Tuesday/Wednesday counts as my ‘midweek’.

So…having used up 250 words already I’ll just give a very short thought for this first minipost.

In the UK news  last week there has been a big uproar over ‘motormouth’ Jeremy Clarkson. On a daytime TV show he suggested that the public sector workers who took strike action should be “shot” and “executed in front of their families”.

Now I don’t like Clarkson personally. He’s a loudmouth who seems to be very full of himself. But, I have to admit that on his Motoring show “Top Gear”, he is brilliant. Rude, obnoxious & silly but very, very funny. The whole show is geared around that kind of humour; very ‘laddish’; very testosterone-fuelled. If he is a guest on your show, you know he’s going to say rude, stupid things. For fans of Clarkson, that’s exactly what they want him to say. He’s anti-pc and for that, at least, I salute him.

No one  baying for his blood in the press has suggested it was anything other than a joke so no one has got the wrong end of the stick. But they still all want him to resign and leave TV. Yet again, the “Nanny state” I referred to in my posts on Blatter  is on the verge of getting involved. How long before all jokes become banned? You may laugh, but what can be said publicly is now extremely limited.

Jeremy Clarkson has apologised for the strike comments

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in British, Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Introducing…miniposts to kenthinksaloud

  1. Pingback: Holidays, Sundarbans and catch ups | kenthinksaloud

  2. ann says:

    like it Ken!! He was still a total dick whatever the context!🙂

    Like

  3. Sajib says:

    500 words isn’t really much of a mini. I work for some blogs as a paid writer and 500 is the standard size of a full post. Therefore, I think, mini post should mean a post like 250 words or less. If you’re writing a 500-word post, I think that’s still a full post rather than a mini post.😀

    Like

    • ah well, perhaps you should send some of that paid work my way! I can do 500 words in my sleep! If you look at my normal posts Sajib, you’ll see that normally they are around 1000-1300. So, for me, 500 words is a ‘mini’ regardless of the fact that other blogs or journals require that as a usual length. I regularly get 600 word articles in newspapers around the UK as a standard word limit but that doesn’t change the fact that, for me, they’re short. So, as its my blog, these definitely get to count as ‘mini’!

      Like

      • Sajib says:

        Yup, that’s okay. To each his own.🙂 I was just talking about what’s usually standard.

        Like

        • depends which ‘standard’ you mean, I think. The kind of lengths you are talking about I would call ‘fillers’. For this blog a post is long (though not as long as most that I read I have to say) so I think the term minipost is quite appropriate in this context. Perhaps the Asian markets have a different ‘standard’ when publishing in English?

          Like

      • Sajib says:

        Well I haven’t worked much in Asian market when it comes to writing articles or posts. I actually did in IT magazines where they would ask for articles not less than about 1000 words (to fill up at least one page). However, in blogging, I’ve always worked for clients/editors from the US or the UK.

        Like

      • Sajib says:

        One more thing, your randomiser has got a problem in there. Check the HTML. You put an unexpected ” at the end so it’s not really working.

        Like

        • genuinely very helpful! I realised it wasn’t working but hadn’t had time to fix it. I hadn’t spotted the extra ” – thank you Sajib bhai for that very helpful piece of information!

          Like

  4. An excellent discussion of this can be found here – http://everyonesanidiot.co.uk/2011/12/06/post-256-jeremy-clarkson/
    I strongly recommend this post to you as it goes in to the context of Clarkson’s comments – very well written post.

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

