The Book: Part 1

I have a stack of posts due to publish on the blog but I have, rather selfishly, pushed them all to one side just to share my little bit of giddy excitement with you.

Most of you who have been following this blog for some time are aware that this site is a vehicle for a number of goals. The chief one, of course, is the promotion of the work my family and I do here at LAMB – especially my work in education. Close behind is the promotion of Bangladesh as both a beautiful and honourable country as well as one bravely facing continuing difficulties and problems. Every blogwriter, of course, has an inner desire to “say their bit” and I don’t pretend otherwise. That said, I’ve been delighted, over the last few weeks, to talk more about others than myself and I’m looking forward to more articles of this nature – but fundamentally, this blog is about my views (it says ‘Ken’ in the title!) and most bloggers would admit the same, I think.

But there is another goal hidden within here and one that I took another step to achieving, recently. It is the goal of getting a book published.

My books - ready to be published - but they might be too light for most readers...

More accurately, it is the goal of getting a book written this year and then getting several books written! I have several half-drafted – both fiction and non-fiction – but the market is a hard one and there are thousands of writers out there all trying to get their first book published too. The blog hones my writing skills, gets me communicating with the rest of the world and gives me a self-imposed deadline of getting a post out each week and a minipost most weeks. All good things for a writer aspiring to become an author. I had thought though, that this goal was way off yet.

So I was surprised when a publisher approached me this week with an interest in seeing my book proposal.

It is this ‘giddy’ snippet of news I wanted to share with all you who so faithfully read this blog and support me in this venture. I have no idea what will come next.

In all likelihood, this publisher will not be interested past the proposal package I sent this weekend. They have already indicated that they refuse 99% of all book proposals and I don’t have a huge amount of writing credential to my name yet. I’m not expecting a positive response – most authors receive a great number of rejections before getting published – and not just the first time either.

But that doesn’t matter.

It was the fact that they wanted to hear from me.

This is seriously good news. It suggests that my book topic (an educational title aiming to help students revise and remember Science facts for their exams) is one that could find a market and not one that all publishers are going to say “pfft…been done before. There’s no market for it.”

What’s more, it got me around to actually writing a complete plan of the whole book and the first chapter completed drafted and edited. I discovered how quickly I can write (24 hour turnaround from nothing to nearly 5,000 words) and I was reminded that I work best when there is an urgent deadline to be met. I should have known that – it’s never been any different and it is very ADHD

So, I’ve titled this post as ‘part 1’ in the hope that, at some point in the future, there will be a ‘part 2’. My suspicion is that ‘part 2’ – at least for a while – will also be the final part. But who knows…maybe there will be a ‘part 3’ some day.

Be assured, fellow blogreaders, you’ll be the first to know!

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Education, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Book: Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Book: Part 2 | kenthinksaloud

  2. Pingback: Minipost 13 – Back to School | kenthinksaloud

  3. jacqui says:

    Very exciting ken. Fingers and toes crossed for you x

    Like

  4. mamadestroy says:

    Congratulations! I wish you the best of luck and can’t wait to hear updates– and then to mine you for advice when Molly and I are ready for a Zeke and Destroy book ; )! So excited for you!

    Like

    • Ha ha – well let’s see what happens here first! I doubt any mining expedition with me would produce much in the way of gems! Thanks for the good wishes – I look forward to your book when you start it! 🙂

      Like

  5. oddznns says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Yes… sparking interest from a publisher is a MAJOR event.Congratulations.

    Like

  6. clownonfire says:

    Well congratulations, whatever the outcome might be! Sparking interest is not an easy thing to do with publishers.

    I also see your blog as a great diving board. The writing is solid in its genre, and your opinions well elaborated, for lack of a better word – said the French speaking man.

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

