Minipost 13 – Back to School

Image Detail

No sooner have I arrived back in Bangladesh that I am now heading back to the UK. I have to go ‘back to school’ (college really) for two Masters modules and spend 3 weeks sleeping on the floor (or couch) of some friends and walking into college each day for lectures.

Is it sad that I am really looking forward to it?

I love studying. The idea of not having to look after anyone else, prepare school work, play with kids or anything else is a wonderful one – for the short term at least.

On top of  Masters work I hope to get the finishing touches to my book sorted so I can get it E-published (not the one I wrote about in ‘The Book – part I’ which I am still waiting on Publishers to hear from). The Preview version will come out for free to all of you who subscribe to the Blog so I hope you will all write nice things about it when you finally get it! It is finally on the top of the ‘to do’ list instead of  being at number one hundred and something, so it might just happen by the end of May. We’ll see…

The most worrying part about going home is that the UK is going through a chilly spell at the moment. This is at the exact time that Bangladesh is going through its regular hot spell! So here I am in Dhaka in T-shirt and shorts which I will wear on the plane this evening and I know I will still be sweating even though it will be turned midnight. But with all my clothes locked in the case in the belly of the plane, there is no opportunity to change before I am thrust out into the cold British night and, after a bus journey, finally arrive at my friends’ house in Gloucester turned 1 am. My wife has told me I will freeze. I have told her not to be so bloody silly and reminded her that I’m British so I can handle anything. I wonder who will be right..?

This week has been difficult. My wife went to Dhaka to help a friend so I have looked after our two at LAMB all week while fighting off a horrible throat infection, trying to get school work sorted (up at 2 am twice marking papers) and also dealing with my daughter who was quite ill and had to be seen by doctors. If I’ve not forgotten something vital (like my passport or something) it’ll be a miracle.

The result is that I have still not written my post on Pohela Boishakh and my first performance on Sitar. This is an important one to me so I hope to get it done before May properly kicks in when I celebrate this blog being one year old!

Keep posting comments my friends – I love hearing from you. Talk to you next in the UK. See you then.

I write these miniposts for supporters of this blog. If you enjoyed this post please consider sharing it on your facebook, Twitter or blog to encourage others to sign up too! I would love more to follow the blog and learn about LAMB, Bangladesh and education (yes – AND hear my ramblings too!). You can also help introduce new readers to the blog by clicking the ‘Blogsurfer’ button at the side. It takes just a couple of seconds. Thanks 🙂

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, British, Education, Life, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Minipost 13 – Back to School

  1. I’ve recently learned that inspiration comes when it comes, and doesn’t when you really need it to. Take care of yourself and your family….I’m sure there is a post or two being created in your mind as I type.
    =)

    Like

    • oh it is Stacie I can tell you! One of the advantages of being slightly ADHD (see my posts about that) is that I have a habit of seeing the world with the excitement of a puppy dog! The result is I can’t keep up with the ideas for posts in my mind! Some of my best I’ve forgotten before I got to them!

      Like

  2. wanderfool says:

    wow, your life is so full of wonderful, diverse things at the moment! Enjoy 🙂

    Like

  3. Gordon says:

    Wives always know best. BUT do you have to make it that easy for Vikki. lol. Safe journey Ken.

    Like

  4. Vikki Ford-Powell says:

    I am always right! Get wrapped up as soon as possible or it wont just be the throat infection that you need to worry about.xx

    Like

  5. terry1954 says:

    i have never heard anyone else say that they look forward to school. i am talking about college days. when ever i was going to college classes, i looked forward to it and loved it. it was my own little world where i could shine from within

    Like

    • Hello again Terry – nice to see you on my pages 🙂 Believe it or not I have, over 20 years of teaching, come across a few like us who love learning and enjoy it all the more in the ‘school’ environment. But yes, we’re few and far between…

      Like

  6. kidswhogig says:

    Enjoy your time in England – hope your family is feeling better soon and of course I can’t wait to see you play the sitar! ~jill

    Like

    • Thanks Jill – great to hear from you. The recordings I have are not great quality but I promise you they will be uploaded as soon as I can once I arrive in the UK. I’m writing at the halfway point in Abu Dhabi on my laptop at the moment – couldn’t do this a few years ago!!

      Like

  7. jacqui says:

    Just make sure you have an umbrella and a pair of waders and you’ll be fine. Think your wife will be right though!! Have fun x

    Like

  8. Anita says:

    put some jeans in your hand luggage and stick them on in the plane or you will freeze. or drown ti be fair. . .

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

