I read this blog regularly and it is always good. This post, though, I had to share with you all. It is a tremendous tribute to a special sister. K

When my sister was born, she was clearly unusual.  Her appearance, her distinctive facial and physical features were a curious, unexplainable phenomenon.  I remember thinking, “Where did this baby come from?  Whose baby is this?”  

My sister, as an infant, had dark, almost black, upturned eyes, a flat nose, a small mouth and large tongue.  Her ears were curved inward.  She had a single crease across both palms of her tiny hands, short stubby fingers, tiny feet with a larger than normal space between the big toes and the rest of them.  

She was extraordinarily double-jointed – almost as if she had no bones at all.

I didn’t know that the features that gave my sister her unique appearance were the physical elements that made people with Down syndrome recognizable.

Lying in her crib, I often peered in at her; she, staring into space, her dark eyes, like the…

View original post 1,139 more words

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. clownonfire says:

    Ken,
    Thank you for sharing this very touching story.
    Le Clown

    Like

    • Mon plaisir Monsieur clown. It had to be shared really.

      Hoping you are keeping spirits up – been a bit bogged down in stuff recently so not read your latest yet – but will catch up soon. K

      Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    What a beautiful story….. certainly made me think.

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

