Eccentricities in a Bangladeshi Gaa’ye Holud | Freedom to Survive

I attempted to teach at school today and gave up after less than half a day! I think the Typhoid is still taking its time to leave this battered body. Hence, another re-blog today! I will write my own post very soon. I promise. Until then, enjoy the following:

English: Relatives decorating the groom with t...

English: Relatives decorating the groom with traditional wedding turmeric in a traditional Bangladeshi Gaye Holud ceremony in Dhaka. বাংলা: একটি বাংলাদেশি গায়ে হলুদ অনুষ্ঠান। আমন্ত্রিত অতিথিরা ছেলের গায়ে হলুদ মেখে দিচ্ছেন। (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nakib’s Blog – Freedom to Survive – is quite a different kind of blog to most of the others I have shared with you in recent weeks. This blogger generally, but not always, writes about Bangladesh and is much more political than I am in thinking.

I don’t always agree with his thoughts and his opinions, but I do find my thoughts provoked as a result of what he says. If you are interested in what’s going on in Bangladesh and like to read posts that are provocative, I recommend his blog to you. To get you started, try this post:

Eccentricities in a Bangladeshi Gaa’ye Holud | Freedom to Survive.

Now I LOVE a good Gaye Holud! We get a lot of them up here in Dinajpur, especially amongst the Santal population. Unlike Nakib who finds them a bit tiresome and unnecessary. His witty observations here though, tell you a lot about Bangladeshi society – particularly the middle-class set which I think Nakib is writing about here.

Asian friends will, I think, recognise a lot of the characteristics of many of the people Nakib mentions in his entry. It certainly had my head nodding as I recognised much of what he described! A nice, light introduction to a blog that often discusses meatier issues and is not afraid to take a stand. Recommended for all of you who want to think a little more beyond your armchair about the world theatre we all play in.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, Culture, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eccentricities in a Bangladeshi Gaa’ye Holud | Freedom to Survive

  1. Sajib says:

    A have a Gaye Holud and a marriage ceremony coming up this 9th and 11th November. Unfortunately, the timing is at night and I got exams on both 10th and 12th. I’m not usually a big fan of attending marriage events; but this one was a close friend of my sister and she asked me to make sure that I attend.

    Like

    • Well I would suggest you work extra hard to make sure you are prepared for those exams bhai and then go enjoy the festivities! Actually, psychological testing shows that, if you have done your revision earlier enough, then taking a break in just this way will help you recall information better the next day! Good luck anyway🙂

      Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

