Kenthinksaloud goes on a trip – Guest post on BBW

It is with great excitement that I can announce that kenthinksaloud has been invited to guest post on an awesome blog known as  Black Box Warnings or BBW for short.

The post will appear on the 29th November so pencil that into your diaries and be prepared to hop over to that site on the day. I will, of course, provide a link here at the same time so you are not expected to remember the web address or anything and the post will stay on forever unless the author wants to bin it so don’t worry if you’re actually busy or something. You will be forgiven. This time.

I thought I’d just tell you a little about BBW and its author so you know what to expect.

Le Clown is a Canadian blogger with incredible life-story. His real name of Eric he uses on BBW but he also runs his very famous A Clown on Fire (COF) blog too. As Le Clown he is irreverent, sometimes rude but always funny. Beware, if you go on on COF, you will see colourful language and strong ideas that are not to everyone’s taste. Don’t go there if the F word offends you! Personally, I find him very witty and he is clearly supported by a lot of people who genuinely love him. This means he is, in my book, a nice bloke,  and I support nice blokes because there aren’t enough of them.

What is certain is that Le Clown works bloody hard to produce an excellent site that is just incredible, as a blogger, to see. His graphics for his banners are superb, for instance. Behind the apparent lack of care actually lies a huge amount of work and this has earned him amazing success in a very short space of time. People love that site and for good reason.

But alongside Le Clown‘s humour, the man and father Eric also has a young son with AD(H)D and it was through this connection that I first found Eric. Eric runs a second blog – BBW to discuss the more serious issues of living with his son and dealing with this condition when he has been forced by his ex-wife through the courts to put him on medication he truly believes is not needed at all. It is both heart-breaking and inspirational to see how Eric deals with all this and has kept together an incredibly close and loving family.

Recently, Eric has been invited some of his many and varied blogging fans to guest post on BBW about issues relating to ADHD (see one of my posts on ADHD here), depression and other related issues. The stories make for challenging and moving reading. It is my honour that I have been asked to contribute my own story – and that of my son’s, Thing I – to BBW.

So join us on Black Box Warnings on the 29th, but have a look at the site earlier and read some of the other remarkable stories there. And if you fancy a laugh and joining in with one of the most popular blogs I know of at the moment, go have a look at Clown on Fire too. But I wouldn’t advise showing it to your Gran.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in community, Review, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kenthinksaloud goes on a trip – Guest post on BBW

  1. Jeff says:

    Ken, I am so glad to hear you survived your various maladies and medical interventions. I am concerned, however, about your delusional thinking about your physique.
    Say hi to everyone!

    Like

    • You’re not the only Jeff, you’re not the only one! How are you, by the way?

      Like

      • Jeff says:

        This is your Coloradoan friend Jeff, the shrink. We are doing very well, waiting for snow–you do remember what snow is, don’t you??
        Your blog is much revamped since I last saw it far too long ago. It is very nice! Your bout with typhoid sounds pretty scary. I am glad no-one else in your family got it.

        Like

        • Oh yes, I was certain who you were!Hence why I asked how you were – I’ve heard you’ve not been so good recently :-/

          Thank you for the votes of confidence in the blog and a few recent posts. The Typhoid was pretty horrible but it did, at least, inspire some humorous posts!
          Good to hear from you my friend!

          Like

  2. Pingback: Guest post on Black Box Warnings – The Disease | kenthinksaloud

  3. I’m looking forward to your post Ken..however, I will be doing Kids Church Christmas Set-Up on Thursday, so I may miss it..but it’ll definitely be awaiting me in my inbox for when I get back home =)

    Like

  4. Le Clown says:

    Ken,
    I am honoured to have you on BBW, and I am looking forward to reading your post. I think you made a pretty decent description of both BBW and ACOF. And you see right through Le Clown’s irreverent personality my friend. I will add this post in my PPress Releases section, too.
    Have a beautiful weekend,
    Le Clown

    Like

    • Le Clown,
      It is always good to get the endorsement of the person about whom you’ve just written. It stops you from fearing the “How dare you write that about me?” message!
      The honour is clearly mutual then and I’m looking forward to seeing the post go live in a few days. Thanks for taking the time to post a comment here – it is much appreciated.

      Best wishes to you and yours!

      Like

  5. boomiebol says:

    I enjoyed reading this Ken. Look forward to reading your post on BBW

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

