A pop up shop

Perhaps it is because I am currently sitting in a bar in Dhaka, all alone and feel slightly sad for myself with no family or friends (I am, according to the book ‘Lies to Tell Small children’, like a LEGO brick – LEGO bricks are communal creatures: put one in a box on its own and watch it go slowly mad).

Or perhaps it is because I have a 4,500 word essay for my MA course with the deadline in 2 days time and the current draft is well over the word limit and totally lacking any references or backing to the drivel I’ve written and so I’m procrastinating rather than trying to salvage the wreck.

Either way, I felt like something funny again and so I’m reblogging a post from one of my all-time favourite blogs by a wonderfully kind-hearted woman called Ameena.

Ameena will tell you that I regularly comment on her blog about life with her 7 yr old daughter, and her slightly older husband and find myself sympathising with her man almost every time.

Ameena finds herself sympathising with my wifey as a result.

Very different to Miss Pretty Feet’s post I shared yesterday, Ameena’s humour is more gentle and very much home-bound and family-oriented. Yet she never fails to make me smile or, in this case, to genuinely LOL. Have a read of this post and discover the life of a wonderful woman and her (in this case) scarily clever daughter, Maya. After reading the advice given, perhaps my male readers will also join me in feeling slightly sorry for the man in this family despite us all knowing, deep down, that it is entirely of his own doing…

a pop up shop | Fancy That…Fancy This.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A pop up shop

  1. Pingback: The things they say… | kenthinksaloud

  2. Ameena says:

    Thanks for the reblog Ken…it’s really nice of you to consider me “kind-hearted” by the way. Not sure too many people in my household would agree.🙂

    Like

    • Oh I think there is no doubt that you are, Ameena! Your warmth and friendliness exudes out of your writing and I also happen to know personally how willing you are to give your time even to a stranger like me. It was a pleasure to recommend your post and your blog to others.🙂

      Like

  3. Ameena is a friend of mine (blog-friend if there is such a term/word) and I have read that particular blog post. She is refreshing, different and always a joy to read, not to mention, as you did, the LOL moments while reading her posts.

    I’m happy to read this.

    Like

  4. Addie says:

    Have you been @ http://silvagang.wordpress.com/ yet? I go there (whenever I can manage) for comic relief. Now heading to your reblog.

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

