A gift for those who argue with me: More Fat and Frantic

Continuing (and finishing) my little obsession with my personal past and the little-known 80s band called Fat & Frantic, I thought I would share one of their more humorous songs this time.

If you’ve ever found yourself in an argument with someone who just won’t see reason, then this song is for you. It’s certainly aimed at all those who just haven’t been reasonable in my own life and had the strength of character to see things my way. Shame on you.

Though, of course, it is always possible they were thinking just the same thing about me…

Be that as it may, feel free to share this post if you know at least one person like this and even go to Amazon.co.uk where you can download the song (from the Album Agressive Sunbathing) if you want to hear it and send it to them as a gift. I tried to teach it to my students to sing a long time ago because they all identified with it (at least those with brothers or sisters did anyway) but words such as ‘semantic’ made it difficult to understand let alone spit the words out fast enough so I gave up fairly quickly and stuck to ‘Uncle David‘, ‘Dirtville Werewolf‘, ‘Trainspotters’ and, occasionally, ‘Sweating on the Urban Clearway‘. All of these songs can be downloaded too by the way – plus other really silly favourites of mine such as ‘Snog a Toff‘, ‘Born to be a Brownie‘ and the dark but telling ‘Dictator Song for Swinging Fascists‘.

You might as well buy the album, to be honest though, as I said last time, they were a Religious band and if you don’t subscribe to the same religious ideals you might find that a mild irritant. They were very British, very silly (a band that wrote a love song to a red telephone box they called Doris – it says it all really) and called themselves (if I remember correctly) a ‘scuffle’ band being like a Skiffle band but not quite the same. Think Lonnie Donegan and you’re getting close

By the way, I’m not linked to this group and don’t get any royalties from writing posts singing their praises. Nevertheless, I was shocked and just a tad nervous when I posted a link on my Facebook and a friend sent the link to one of the band members who is on their own Facebook friends list. I didn’t really think anyone from the band was likely to come across these pages. Oops.

Anyway, for the last time, enjoy a thoroughly British sense of humour with this song. I can’t quite remember why it was called ‘Rachel & Jim’ but I think it had something to do with one of the band members and his sister. Or could have been his wife. Not sure – so anyone out there know the real story? Please share if you do!

Rachel & Jim

Why am I always right?

I know I’m always reasonable

Can’t you just see the light

Surely it must be feasible?

The sense of deep injustice when I hear what you say

is something that will never, ever go away

I can’t begin to say how much I wish it wasn’t true

But somehow I am always just a little bit more right than you

A bit more right than you.

I always

End up arguing with you

I’d love to see some truth in your point of view

I’ve been waiting to back down for oh so long

But there’s never been a time when I’ve been wrong.

 

Why do we have to quarrel?

Can’t you just agree with me?

It’s all just over zealous morals

Simply that you never see

the point of what I’m saying in a strict semantic sense

You cannot carry on just sitting on the fence

Sooner or later you’ll come down on my side

I just wish it could be sooner, heaven knows I’ve tried

Heaven knows I’ve tried.

I always

End up arguing with you

I’d love to see some truth in your point of view

I’ve been waiting to back down for oh so long

But there’s never been a time when I’ve been wrong.

 

It’s hard being right it’s a burden on my heart

It’s hard being right but I’ve been right from the start

It’s hard being right but you simply must accept

that my point of view is unfailingly correct

Unfailing correct.

I always

End up arguing with you

I’d love to see some truth in your point of view

I’ve been waiting to back down for oh so long

But there’s never been a time when I’ve been wrong.

Wrong!

 

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in British, Humour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A gift for those who argue with me: More Fat and Frantic

  1. renxkyoko says:

    i can relate… especially with those I disagree with politically. How can I ever agree with someone who thinks climate change is a hoax? ha ha ha

    Like

    • Ha ha – well I do know a few people who genuinely DO think it is a hoax! I think you can interpret the song a number of ways depending on how right you think you are and how wrong you think THEY are!

      Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

