As she lay dying: A story from Bangladesh

I have just read this article from the Dhaka Tribune. I had heard about the fire and the death of a survivor just when they thought they would find no more. But reading it here has reduced me to tears again.

Not just for this poor woman but for all the people – mostly young women – who died over the last week in Savar, Bangladesh because Westerners want their cheap clothes. At the time of writing the figure is nearing 400. My suspicion is it will be well over 400 before long as they begin in earnest to dig the bodies out of the rubble.

Please read this article and weep for with the people of Bangladesh.

As she lay dying | Dhaka Tribune.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to As she lay dying: A story from Bangladesh

  1. Lunch Sketch says:

    So sad to observe these things from afar. I can only imagine how helpless you must feel being so close and connected with the people. I am reminded of Edmund Burkes words, “Nobody makes a greater mistake than he who does nothing because he could only do a little”.
    It is clear you want to do so much for this country and its beautiful people. I believe even though it may feel only like a little, you have done more than most of us around the world, by raising awareness of their plight and the multiple layers of injustice at the root of this disaster.

    Like

    • Thank you Lunch Sketch, those words are kind and encouraging. Usually I content myself that commentating and recording what I see is enough here. Just sometimes, like with the Savar tragedy, it doesn’t feel enough…

      Like

  2. This is devastating and extremely disturbing to read. Here in the UK – I feel so helpless.

    Like

  3. Rinth says:

    The men who were about to rescue her were in tears. One person. And what about the owner/s? How do they feel about causing the death of hundreds of people?

    Like

    • It’s a good question Rinth. I really wonder what will happen to those men now. It will be interesting to see what becomes of them. It is a terribly heart-breaking situation. I think it perhaps wise I didn’t go to help in the end. I would have been in tears the whole time…

      Like

      • Rinth says:

        Yeah. Merely watching it through TV made us cry… and I’ve never seen a dead body (in reality) in my whole life… so yeah the people who were and are there, especially the volunteers, well I have no words to describe their courage…

        Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

