Humour: Relationships nowadays

I had to share my new favourite site with you all today – putting off a more difficult post I’ve been writing, deleting and re-writing all week. Maybe I’ll get that one out tomorrow…

However, today, I feel in the mood for humour; something funny to chill out to. So I was overjoyed when my daughter Thing I, showed me this joke on english jokes

Source: English-jokes.net

Source: English-jokes.net

I’m so glad she did. I’m looking forward to more of this site. If you go there though, beware, some jokes are cleaner than others – though I didn’t see anything truly offensive. Apologies if there is. The problem with humour is that one person’s hilarity is the next person’s shame.

Nevertheless, the world would be a pretty horrible place if we couldn’t find moments of laughter so I’d rather err in this direction than never crack a smile at all.

Although the whole joke site looks much fun, I chose this picture – the one my darling daughter showed me to reproduce here. It is so me and certainly the kind of world I live in. Especially now that I’ve finally joined Twitter, as I told you all about recently.

By the way, on a related note (in that you can all have a laugh at my expense) almost all of those lovely ladies I told you had starting following me promptly all unfollowed me over the next few days after the post. Perhaps I should have kept my mouth shut? Alas now I am just an ordinary pleb in the Twitter world and no longer possess a fan-base of ‘Twitterettes’. I guess it’s all for the best. Long distance relationships never work out.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Culture, Humour, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Humour: Relationships nowadays

  1. Communication for you! Brilliant joke and great idea to share, Ken! [and Thing I!]🙂

    Like

  2. I use to have a Funny Friday post every week – where I shared minimum of 5 jokes that I had heard that week and encouraged my readers to share theirs – not sure why I haven’t kept up with that as it was a good ending to a busy week for most of us.

    As for the twitter and people unfollowing you – you may realise, like I did, the trend of some people who only really focus on having a big following. What they do, or the trend is, to follow you so that you follow them back and a few days later they suddenly unfollow you – there isn’t a way of knowing who has followed you or unfollowed you. You will find people of different intentions on twitter – like any place, most people are geniune and echo their thoughts in minor tweets but some people trying tweeting to expand the list of their followers – not sure if that is a bad thing but people do happen to use some cunning tactics.

    Like

    • Sheesh that would be a big commitment for me! I often find lots of things that I think are funny but to commit to five would be a problem! Sometimes, not much funny happens…

      As for Twitter, well the verdict is still out for whether it is any benefit for me as a writer yet. I think it is and think it will be increasingly but I’ve yet to be convinced. I’m afraid that marketing and being ‘clever with social media’ is not really my thing. I guess this guarantees I’ll never be anything other than a poor jobbing writer! But at least I’ll be happy🙂

      Like

  3. Audrey Chin says:

    Cute. What would we do without our gadgets. Do you remember standing in British rain and wondering why your friend wasn’t showing up? Now all we do is txt “r u coming?”.

    Like

    • Yes, indeed. And I have to confess that after my daughter showed me the joke I couldn’t find it on my laptop so I talked to her on Facebook to ask her for the link – she was in the room next door!! This is our world…

      Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

