Writing Catch-up (7 Reasons to be excited)

You may have noticed I’ve not posted anything for several days on this blog. There are reasons. I didn’t die and I haven’t given up (though, at times, I wish I would).

One reason is that last Saturday, when I try to get all my main blog posts for the week written up, we were travelling back from Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, after spending several days there for my birthday.

But there have been other things on the go too – mostly to do with my work as a writer.

So here is a quick catch-up on what has been going on the writing side of things:

1) The last few weeks have been busy, busy with articles and reviews for several editors. I’m still way behind on work though not so far behind that I’ve missed deadlines. I’ve cut it pretty close at times though…

Encouragements and disappointments come in equal measure in this game. I had one article pitch accepted by an American magazine which was going to pay pretty darned well but an editorial cock-up on their side meant they had already assigned one of their editors to write a piece on exactly my subject and hadn’t realised. I hadn’t sent the article in at that point so I couldn’t get a kill-fee for it which I’m kicking myself for.

Note to self: Get articles written earlier.

Other things are published now (or are going to) but some have been postponed or ‘might be used in the future’ which feels like a kick in the teeth. I have to remember this is all making me a better writer and try to get excited about that. Hmm…

Yet, it has not all been depressing…

2) Exams at the school are almost over and my O level students have completed all of theirs so I am truly counting down the days now to going full-time as a freelance writer. I think I’m itching to have that freedom though I have enjoyed a reduced timetable of recent so it has given me a taste of what’s to come. I am excited about this.

3) I’m on to my last three essays for the Master’s Degree. Then I just have the dissertation to do which will largely be written back in the UK next year. It will be a weight off my mind to get these all done and I hope to have them cleared out-of-the-way by the end of June. We’ll see if that really happens of course, but I’ll be excited if it does…

4) Despite the difficulty of pinning down my publisher to get contracts signed (he lives between three countries), I managed to get a flurry of emails out of him to put some of my fears to rest. A lot of you have been asking me details about my novel and other books – when will they be published etc – and I can reveal some details now.

  • All being well, my Young Adult novel – The Pukur – will be published somewhere around October this year.
  • I’m free to continue as a freelance author and publish books with other publishers so I can begin sending out proposals to agents and publishers from now on.
  • I can also self-publish – for Kindle and so on – though my publisher has expressed a wish to have the choice to print publish anything I publish online. I’m not going to complain about that!

I can’t describe to you just how excited I am about all this.

5) So, on the book(s) front it is the green light to go. As soon as the school work stops I will get started on several book projects in earnest. The first will be to finally get out onto Kindle my first self-published book – currently called Blogged Down in Bangladesh. This project has been on the go for two years now and was held up while the publisher considered it for print publishing. He chose to do the novel first and released this book back to me. The plan, right now, is to get it out before the novel comes out.

Yes, I’ll be excited about this but, more than that, I’ll be relieved to finally get it done.

6) I will begin  – first of all though – by taking part with Thing II again in this year’s JulNoWriMo. Last year we wrote our own individual 50,000 word novels (separate books but had our planning and writing sessions together to encourage and challenge each other). This year we intend to do this again and write a novel together too.

The novel is based on the true story of our family over the last 100 years based in India and Bangladesh and we plan (so far) to write the story as a series of letters between fathers and daughters spanning three generations. We’re both excited about the idea but it is an ambitious project – I’ll let you know how we get on next month…

7) There is one more special something going on that has been taking much of time of recent; but I’m not going to tell you what it is yet! All will be revealed in a few weeks time but I can tell you that (for me, at least) it is very exciting and I’m looking forward to the next step in this new career for me. You’ll just have to keep reading this blog if you want to know what it is though.

And you’ll never guess just how I feel about it…

Catch you all next time🙂

Ken

???????????????????????????????

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Writing Catch-up (7 Reasons to be excited)

  1. Pingback: Write or re-write | Write Out Loud

  2. Pingback: Introducing “Write Out Loud” | kenthinksaloud

  3. Tim Naylor says:

    You should edit the photo to black and white, but with the brolly in red . . . Then write a novel about it. I’ll even give you a working title, The Red Umbrella! No good? Ok I’ll stick to my day job, but I’m so thrilled with all your news and successes on the writing front!

    Like

  4. Congrats on all the wonderful news!

    Like

  5. Summer says:

    Sweet you,

    I’ve an award for you, for the person who you are and the things you share with the world
    http://summer4soul.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/peace-is-a-free-choice-so-is-this-award/

    Thank you for that..

    Namasté, Summer

    Like

  6. Ken those are some pretty exciting news…specially for THE PUKUR…
    wish you all the best for all projects🙂
    and hey you look great and loved the shots

    Like

  7. That’s so great Ken, I am happy for your developments and successes. It encourages me to keep trying to🙂

    Like

  8. Talk about human nature… you have mentioned 6 great reasons to be excited and yet – curiosity sneaks in! What could that 7nth one be?!!!!!!🙂 Happy for you, Ken!

    Like

  9. Ladygardenia says:

    Take care Ken, lol… Don’t worry if you can’t write Blog everyday… I have been silent so long time that people must surely think I’m dead, lol.

    Like

  10. Norah says:

    Really happy for you Ken! And you are a huge inspiration for young aspiring writers!

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

