Introducing “Write Out Loud”

So, remember a little while back I said I had a new project that I was really excited about?

And remember I couldn’t tell you what it was because it was a secret?

Well, now I can reveal all…

I have finally decided to start a new blog! Now the first thing I have to say is that I don’t think many of you will want to read it.

I know, I know – not the best way to advertise a new blog, is it? Well, there’s a reason.

For some time now I’ve been aware that kenthinksaloud is drawing a diverse range of followers. Some of you are friends: Great – I love having you here. Many are bloggers who have become friends: Great to have you too! Yet more though, are interested in a variety of areas: Bangladesh; Asia; ADHD; Education; life in another culture…

…and writing.

To celebrate going full-time as a freelance writer and because my first novel – The Pukur –  is soon to be published, I decided it was time to take the writing posts to a new site. Hence, Write Out Loud  was born.

On Write Out Loud I will put my posts about writing, news events and any helpful or useful resources or websites I come across that would interest other writers and bloggers aspiring to be published themselves. So, if you’re not a writer or wannabe writer at least and you’re not a blogger who wants to find new things to try out or learn about, then you don’t want to join. You’ll be bored.

So this is an invitation for those of you who are writers and bloggers who either already publish in the mainstream media or want to in the future. Please come over to the site and have a look and sign up by clicking the ‘Follow’ button or giving your email address. The site has just started right today so there’s not much to see and over the next few days I’m going to add reblogs from this site and new ones about JulNoWriMo so you may see some repeated material, but I get a load of cool stuff from a number of sources every week and I hope to share some great things with you.

Don’t worry if you’re not a writer but want to keep up with my novels, books and writing life – including JulNoWriMo – I will keep posting about those things here and the same posts may appear on both sites occasionally. You certainly won’t miss out on any new developments with my family and our writings.

If you write, I hope you’ll join me and support the new blog while still reading this one. I don’t expect to be writing more posts than I do now – just that the ones to do with writing will move over to Write Out Loud. 

Please bear with me as I get this site up and running. I’m also finishing essays and writing two books while editing two others – all in the month of July! It will take a while to get it together so encourage me by saying hi over there and signing up. If you’re a whizz with wordpress and can give me advice where I’m going wrong or things I can improve then drop me a line too – I’d really love to hear from you!

I hope to see you there!🙂

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Introducing “Write Out Loud”

  1. Hiken how r u??its been long i heard from you!! how r things🙂 ..Love – kruti (India)

    Like

  2. A. I. Sajib says:

    You knew I’ll be there right? Though my works have been published many times, they are just non fiction. And how much I want to write fiction can be seen on some of my latest posts.🙂

    Like

  3. jacqui7272 says:

    Good luck with that🙂

    Like

  4. Cheers to your new blog, Ken! I hopping over now!🙂
    Happy Monday and July 1st!

    Like

  5. This is something that does interest me. Like you, I too have other aspirations and totally understand the idea of another blog.

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

