30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 6 – Bread on the table

Bangladesh is in a stranglehold as the two main parties continue their battle of wills using the people as pawns. Almost continuous hartals, strikes and demonstrations, are announced every day with more vehicles and property destroyed, more people killed and more days of businesses and industry brought to a standstill. If two people wanted to destroy a country, they could not do it any more effective than the Prime Minister and her Opposition counterpart are already doing. For LAMB hospital and compound it means work precariously held up. No one is going anywhere.

So today has been a boring one for Wifey and I. Simply business as usual or, as we would say in the UK (not sure about other places), ‘putting bread on the table’. Certainly no packing.

???????????????????????????????

For Wifey this means continuing on her work at LAMB Rehab centre, correcting Club feet and dealing with the many children who come through their doors with a myriad of problems needing the help of the therapists.

At the same time, she’s busy putting the last few thousand words into her Masters dissertation. The deadline is close but she want’s to get it in even sooner so that the whole thing is done and dusted before we leave the country at the end of the month.

I’m ashamed that I’ve barely begun mine despite much reading around and discussions with tutors about the work to be done. Technically speaking, my proposal isn’t even complete yet, let alone any part of the real thing. Thankfully, it won’t be until next summer that I hand it in. I’d like to say I’ll be glad to be shot of it but I know I’m already looking ahead to the possibility of doing another undergraduate degree with the Open University before deciding if I want to go for a PhD before I reach 60.

But the main task today was completing articles for editors. I had three come at once – all on Bangladesh – so I spent most of the day grumping at the kids to be quiet and battling the internet to (slowly) give me the research information I needed. I now know a lot more about restaurants in Dhaka, Santals in Dinajpur and wildlife in the Sundarbans than I did a week ago!

Us watching a presentation of our life in Bangladesh

Us watching a presentation of our life in Bangladesh

Both kids have been (more or less) engrossed in revision and tests. LAMB school is in the middle of its semester exams and then the staff will be straight on to completing reports in time for the end of school in just over two weeks time. Do I miss being a teacher at this point? Nope.

Wifey does an admirable job of being a PA for all four of us. There’s no doubt at LAMB who is the member of the Ford-Powell family to go to if you want something done and friends and colleagues are all but flocking to her to arrange dawats and bidays. The schedule is changing daily and getting tighter by the minute.

One thing did happen. I said goodbye to Dilip, our milkman for five years. It was nothing formal, nothing big. just a thanks for five years reasonably reliable and daily service and a gift to go along with it. But I was sad for two reasons: First, it was another indication of our household closing down and second, I will have to drink black tea from now on. I’m not going to like that for long.

Meanwhile…no change to Thing II’s bedroom floor. We’ve ordered another barrel though…

 

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, LAMB, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 6 – Bread on the table

  1. Merry Christmas and a very blessed New Year to you and your family. My regards and gratitude to you for being a part of the development of our community in Bangladesh. Thanks a lot. My name is Dalia Rodrigues. I’m a school teacher. I am also interested to do work with LAMB but I live in Dhaka. Can you please guide me by giving information related to my skills ?
    I have read your writing. Those make me emotional also. Thanks again for mingle with our culture so easily and became a member of that. I hope and pray you will come back soon to Bangladesh again and we will get back our lost friend.
    God bless you
    Regards
    Dalia

    Like

    • Hello Dalia,

      Thank you so much for your message. I’m very glad you’ve enjoyed my writings on this blog and hope you’ll continue to read them during 2014. I certainly hope and pray I’ll be back to Bangladesh to visit in the near future and, perhaps, to live there again one day.
      Please either contact me on ken.fordpowell@gmail.com to discuss your interest in LAMB school or contact me via Facebook – you’ll find me under my own name: Ken Ford-Powell.

      Best wishes for 2014

      Like

  2. Pingback: 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 21 – The Last Things To Go | kenthinksaloud

  3. Pingback: 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 16 – A celebration, not a Goodbye | kenthinksaloud

  4. Pingback: 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 10 – A Teenage Biday | kenthinksaloud

  5. Pingback: 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 9 – Bargain shopping | kenthinksaloud

  6. Pingback: 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 8 | kenthinksaloud

  7. Pingback: 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 7 – International Disability Day at LAMB | kenthinksaloud

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

