30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 30 – Goodbye to LAMB, Goodbye to Bangladesh

I am struggling to know what to write for this final post. My heart couldn’t be much heavier and every time I stop for a moment I come close to bursting into tears. I can’t even bring myself to posting a photo from the many I took today. Except this one which sums it up pretty well:

??????????????????????

The day began okay. We were leaving LAMB at 2 pm and just needed to finish packing plus oversee the remaining furniture being taken by our friends.

Then a director called us at 10 am to tell us the flights to Dhaka had been brought forward and now we had to leave at 11 am – less than an hour!

Mass panic as we tried to cram stuff into bags and call friends we knew wanted to say goodbye to let them know we were going now. 

Incredibly, everyone descended on us very quickly. It was all good as we busied around getting everything sorted. Then the hugs started and almost immediately the tears began – all round. I did my best to hold mine back but it was so, so hard to say goodbye to people who have been my friends and my family for so long.

The car journey to Saidpur was silent and we didn’t have much to say while we waited to board probably the smallest commercial plane in the world.

???????????????????????????????

I can’t complain – I write for the in-flight magazine for the airlines we used. It was a very nice ride actually but I’m afraid I was in no mood to enjoy it. All I could see – and still see – are all the people who gathered in our house to say goodbye. All I hear is sobbing. All I feel is the choking back of my own tears.

But…

Life goes on. We’re beginning a new chapter of our life as a family and we’ve got to adjust and adapt. God willing, we will do just that.

So this is my final post of this series and probably the last post of 2013. I may have some posts to publish on my writing blog Writeoutloud and I’ve been asked for a few guest posts and to write one or two reviews, but this blog on Bangladesh will temporarily end with the post you’re reading now. Thank you for following – especially if you’ve been here a while. Well done for coping with my ramblings.

I will return in 2014 but I’ll take a while to regroup with Wifey, Thing I and Thing II before deciding the direction this blog will take from hereon. It will certainly continue to be about Britain and Bangladesh as predominant subjects but the emphasis will undoubtedly change as I rediscover my own country and culture and re-work out what it means to be English.

Until then, may I wish you all a very happy new year and share my hope that 2014 brings you many blessings. I’m sure I’ll be bouncing back fairly quickly so expect to hear from me soon. I’ll keep checking and replying to your comments so please do keep them up. My blogger friends will hear from me as I catch up on literally hundreds of posts I’ve not had chance to read recently – especially with an internet service which has been near impossible – so please forgive my absence. That’s one thing I hope will change.

I wish I had words of wisdom at this point but there’s none. I can’t think of any pithy way to end this post; no way to make sense of all we’ve experienced. Instead, I guess, I’m experiencing the confusion which almost defines Bangladesh: immense pain but pain which is right to feel and essential to be there. A pain which tells me that what I felt and believed about Bangladesh and LAMB and everyone there was real.

And, my God, how real it feels.

 

 

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, LAMB, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 30 Final Days of Bangladesh – Day 30 – Goodbye to LAMB, Goodbye to Bangladesh

  1. Pingback: A Year On: Wimbledon wonders and the writing life | kenthinksaloud

  2. Pingback: Changing Eyes | kenthinksaloud

  3. Pingback: Counting Blessings | kenthinksaloud

  4. Pingback: Remind me again, why did I come back? | kenthinksaloud

  5. Pingback: Back to Blighty | kenthinksaloud

  6. ouidepuis1 says:

    This reminds me of when we left Nepal after three months… So much more to say and do and see. People you’ll miss and everlasting memories which will change in priority and come to surprising order of importance.
    Maybe you’d like to read about it.. http://ouidepuis.com/2013/02/09/we-have-now-walked-into-india/
    Sorry to spam you. Wouldn’t normally do this. But maybe you’d like it…

    Like

    • No problem, I’m delighted to share your link with my readers. I don’t know Nepal but Darjeeling is one of our most favourite places and it is very similar I believe. Thanks for checking out my blog🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: On Being a Brit in Bangladesh (and back!) | Life in Russia | kenthinksaloud

  8. sarsm says:

    It must have been so hard to leave. I hope though you managed to enjoy, at least a little bit, the festive period. Take care of yourself Ken. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts. I look forward to reading about your next adventure.

    Like

  9. Ray says:

    after reading you gently and purposely wind down the last 30 days, I think all of your readers gasped aloud at the prospect of your departure time being brought forward at the last minute– such a dramatic, but beautiful ending to this chapter! Best of luck to you and your family for the next journey.

    Like

  10. bhuwanchand says:

    The end is also start of a new beginning. Cheers for the new adventures, God bless you all.

    Like

  11. hi… Ken
    to be honest I missed out some of your posts earlier…but when i read ur last day blog..it brought the memories of my childhood back..since my father was in army we use to move every 3-4 years…nd every time the scene was same on the last day..even when i left my college…it happened again…but i think all these things teach something or other in ur life and inspire u to progress in life…anyway i know the feeling would be same for couple of days….but its in a way nice…at last belated merry chritmas and happpy new year in advance to you nd your family…..would love to listen from u on my writings and gain from your such vivid experience…leaving a link of my blog for others to know.. ..hope u don’t mind
    http://rediscoveryourdreams.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • Of course you can! Thank you for reading and for your kind words. A belated merry Christmas to you and yours too and many 2014 bring you great joy. I am following your blog but am just way behind on the hundreds of posts I need to read! The one thing I’m looking forward to in the UK is a speedy and reliable internet!🙂

      Like

  12. Lunch Sketch says:

    Ken, I hope you and the family are doing well and finding strength in and through each other!
    I cannot imagine how tremendously hard these last 30 days must have been for you all.
    Wishing you all the best for the New Year!

    Like

  13. Norah says:

    You shouldn’t keep your emotions locked up… let the tears come, it feels much better to let it all out. Thank you for sharing your life in Bangladesh with us.

    Like

  14. Have a safe trip.
    Happy New Year 2014!

    Like

  15. russellsfeet says:

    Reblogged this on Russell's Feet – Our journey with Clubfoot and commented:
    Ken – best of luck on journey ahead. Thank you for making a difference in the treatment of Clubfoot in Bangladesh.

    Like

  16. Have a safe trip home, Ken. May your new home welcome you and your family with an abundance of joy. The part of your lives you just left behind is in reality with you always.🙂

    Like

  17. Ruby Tuesday says:

    Sending lots of strength as you work through this change in your life, and wishing you safe travels. Please keep in touch, though I may take some time getting it together to connect with you. I’ll still be wishing you peace and some kind of understanding of this major life change.

    Like

  18. Tim Naylor says:

    Safe journey to you all. We’ll see you on this side of the globe and hopefully we can help you all settle back in. Till then, adieu my friend!

    Like

  19. Seyi sandra says:

    Change is a constant thing Ken… I wish you the best in life!🙂

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

