Sonali – it’s here!

If you haven’t noticed already, my “long-awaited” photo-memoirs book Sonali is finally published and released to the general public. I did release it two days ago, appropriately but not by design, on the anniversary of the collapse of the Rana Plaza in Dhaka last year.

Rather than crudely publicize my book on the back of that, I wrote a post about Rana Plaza instead which I encourage you to read if you haven’t already. A few days later, I think it okay to get back to announcing the arrival of my little baby.

Sonali blurb front coverSo – Sonali is here and you can buy it as a pdf E-book or – if you feel like splashing out – in physical paperback version. I will be making no profit from these books. around £2-3 from either version goes to support Ria’s campaign. The rest goes into production and is pocketed by the company producing the books.

I’m hoping an iPad version will be available eventually and I still hope that I will bring out an app version before long. The E-book is around 40mb big and if that’s too big for your download capabilities then I suggest you go to Ria’s GoFundMe site and donate whatever you feel appropriate and I will email you the exclusive original pdf version which has not gone up for sale but is how the book was originally envisaged (it’s also just 6.5mb too). I personally can’t decide which version I prefer but the photos and text are the same. Anyway, donate and you’ll get the version which cannot be found anywhere else. 🙂

Most of you know that I’m raising money to help bring Ria over here to the UK for her degree so that she can go back to Bangladesh and be part of the growing movement to improve working conditions for women and see women recognised in the business world. We’re most of the way there to collecting her first year fees and it looks almost certain now she will be joining us in the summer but we still need a lot more money yet to guarantee her place at Lancaster University and pay for her fees for all three years.

So please – buy the book, donate to the fund, share the pages and generally help us make a difference. If you are a blogger feel free to blog or reblog this post or any of the links and to review the book on your own sites. Likewise, I’d love to guest post for you. Just let me know.

Thank you everyone who has supported us so far and especially to those who have already bought the book. You’re stars 🙂

Important information:  For best viewing results I recommend purchasers of the pdf version should set their pdf reader to 2 page view with ‘Show Cover Page’ option selected.

An example of one of the inside pages of Sonali

An example of one of the inside pages of Sonali

Buy Sonali here: Ken’s Blurb Bookstall 

Like Sonali on Facebook too! 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, Book Review, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sonali – it’s here!

  1. Pingback: An Empowering Book for an Empowering Woman « Cubol Magazine

  2. Pingback: Guest posting at Life in Russia – Sonali | kenthinksaloud

  3. Pingback: Fundraising for Ria and an Asian night out! | kenthinksaloud

  4. Pingback: It’s gonna be a busy week – guest posts about Sonali | kenthinksaloud

  5. Pingback: A new writing gig! | kenthinksaloud

  6. Good Luck Ken 😀 !!! Ofcourse you will do good!! 😀 😀 !!!

    Like

  7. Ladygardenia says:

    Reblogged this on Us, Love and Streetlights and commented:
    GUYS! Check this wonderful book out, created by my dearest friend Ken!
    And his post I’m reblogging says rest of it! So proud of you, Ken, for creating this beautiful book for such a great cause and I can’t wait to own that book already….

    You guys are almost there! Just a little bit more! 🙂

    Like

  8. Pingback: Sonali – The Glorious Golden Bangla | Kruti Mehta

  9. Pingback: Sonali – A Picture Book of Life in Rural Bangladesh | My Elegantly Cluttered Chamber

  10. Reblogged this on writermummy and commented:
    A lovely book and a great cause

    Like

  11. congratulations and best wishes. good work!

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

