Home Sweet Home

If you’ve followed this blog long enough you may remember this:??????????????????????

These barrels, filled with most of our worldly goods in Bangladesh, have finally been emptied – along with boxes and boxes of ‘stuff’ which have accumulated over the years and have sat for six of those years in the lofts and garages of friends and family.

The new house still looks somewhat like a warehouse with a few rooms (oh all right then – most) having piles of boxes in them. Nevertheless, after just over a week of unpacking (carefully avoiding working on the book I’m trying to finish writing, of course) some of the rooms are taking shape. I thought I’d show you my favourite ones…

First – just so you get an idea of the chaos reigning supreme – this is the room that will be (if all goes to plan) Ria’s room when she finally gets here. Visa red tape hoops have been jumped through but we’re hoping she’ll finally make it here to begin her degree by next month. Let’s hope we’ve cleared this room by then!

Ria's room (aka warehouse)

Ria’s room (aka warehouse)

The kitchen is very much wifey’s favourite for the chief reason that, for the first time in our lives, we finally have a kitchen with an AGA cooker. The excitement of actually reaching that long-awaited dream was, however, considerably quashed when the fuel company supplying our gas and electricity told us our monthly fuel bill will now be 150% more than what we were paying! As of now, we’re wearing double jumpers come Autumn and reading our books in the dark…

The kitchen of our dreams (the fuel bills of our nightmares...)

The kitchen of our dreams (the fuel bills of our nightmares…)

The shared love for all the family is the living room. For thing I it is because of the TV. For thing II it is because he can play on his Playstation here. For Wifey it is the fireplace – we have a fireplace in nearly every room of the house!

We've already enjoyed several wood-burning fires in this room

We’ve already enjoyed several wood-burning fires in this room

For me though it is because my favourite collection of books is housed there.

I've still not read ALL of these yet...

I’ve still not read ALL of these yet…

As you can see from this last picture, I’m a bit of a collector – especially where magazine collections are involved. Some are more serious – on literature or art and so on – others are just silly. You can spot them in the next room: My playroom.

Yes, I have my own playroom! Complete with a pool table, table football, multi-gym and shelves dedicated to Sci-fi and family games.  I am not ashamed to admit that I’m just a big kid at heart!

But most of my books – and all my musical instruments are housed in my study. I finally have a study which fits them all in and gives me room for a desk to actually write on. It may not be pretty (and still has things needing putting away) but it’s getting there. It even has a chess table in front of the fireplace ready to challenge guests to a friendly game over and nice glass of whisky after dinner. Yeah – this is my form of Downton Abbey.

Very finally, anyone who knows me in real life knows that no house is truly mine if it does not provide appropriate reading material for guests using our ‘rest rooms’ for their toiletry needs. Our old ‘reading boat’ – so beloved back in the days before we lived in Bangladesh – is back in use in our bathroom. Actually we have two bathrooms now and that has meant I can separate my ‘toilet reading’ books into two! I know this may appal some of you but if the home is an Englishman’s castle then it seems appropriate to me that he has something decent to read on his throne.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in British, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. Norah says:

    Wait… a fireplace in the bathroom :-S?? And like… how much do you manage to read in there :-|…?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, welcome home!!!!! [a beautiful one too!]
    I’ve got to say …that pool table – ahhhh! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your home looks beautiful and organized🙂. The reading boat in the restroom is my favorite for sure🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha ha – not sure about ‘organised’! It’s getting there but knowing us it’ll still be ‘getting there’ in five years time!
      Yeah the reading boat is pretty special. You can ‘learn while-u-wait’ in our bathrooms!🙂

      Like

  4. I love it! Congratulations again to you and the family! It’s a wonderful place.. You’ll be making a lot of amazing memories there..😀
    How exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. boomiebol says:

    Love the new home. May it bring warm memories. That book shelf in the living room…that will be a dream come true for me

    Liked by 1 person

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

