Why My School Won’t Reopen

“The amount of time people have said to me “it’s just a school. You can find another one.” I can’t even explain what St Bees is, without you having been there.

It’s a community. A family. A home.

All this talk of the school reopening next year or the year after or sometime in the future.

It won’t.”

justathirdculturekid

So my last test was on Friday. Such a relief that they’re over.

No, they weren’t important. 3rd form exams, who cares? It’s not like you’re risking a uni place or something. That’s what I was telling myself at 8:50 on Friday when I realised I knew none of my history revision. All of the information just… vanished. I was literally on the point of a breakdown. I was so stressed. I thought that, at the moment I’m at such a level of constant stress, I couldn’t get any more stressed.

I was wrong.

No, none of these exams matter. At least they don’t matter to anyone else. They matter to me though. These results are the ones I’m going to remember as what St Bees taught me. This is my last chance to prove that I was worthy of this school. I love St Bees, no matter what I’ve…

View original post 313 more words

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in British, children, Corruption, Education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

