My EPQ

Doing some work for a client at the moment looking at personality and research into theories of the development of the self.

Along the way I have been researching Eysenck’s famous work into personality traits and his even more famous questionnaire which came out of it. I love personality tests (the Myers-Brigg test I did just before moving to Bangladesh was the most illuminating test I’ve ever done) so I had a go at a quick version of the test just for fun and was quite impressed. You can see my results below.

I’m quite pleased that I still remain on the extrovert side of the extrovert-introvert line even if only just. I do fear that age and the crap stuff life has thrown my way in recent years is turning me into an introvert but according to this I’ve still got that good ole extrovert blood pumping in me!

I’m sadder that I’ve gone up the neurotic line and away from the emotional stability line where I was a few years ago. There’s still many of the characteristics in the phlegmatic/sanguine areas which I recognise (and am recognised by others, I think) as me. But I think that it’s fair to say events particularly over the last two years have conspired to make me moodier, more aggressive (in that I take no prisoners and suffer no fools) than I used to be.

I hope that maybe if I take this test in a couple of years and the big guy decides I’m not cut out to be Job or Joseph any longer that maybe that red spot will start to descend and head more to the right. I miss getting my energy from the presence of others and my heart is still sociable and easy-going.

On the plus – I’m not psychotic! (you can all sleep easy in your beds tonight knowing that) and I like the thought that I am overly kind. I hope that’s true – I certainly don’t see it as a weakness if it is.

Genuine LOL moment for me reading I have a martyr complex though! Oh. My. Goodness!!

Eysenck’s Test Results
Extraversion (59%) moderately high which suggests you are, at times, overly talkative, outgoing, sociable and interacting at the expense of developing your own individual interests and internally based identity.
Neuroticism (67%) moderately high which suggests you are worrying, insecure, emotional, and anxious.
Psychoticism (40%) moderately low which suggests you are, at times, overly kind natured, trusting, and helpful at the expense of your own individual development (martyr complex).

Take Eysenck Personality Test (similar to EPQ-R)
personality tests by similarminds.com

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in psychology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My EPQ

  1. Norah says:

    I got phlegmatic, but also got the “martyr complex” which I disagree with…

    Liked by 1 person

    • D K Powell says:

      That doesn’t surprise me at all Norah! I would be interested to know your percentages. The psychoticism text is more or less standard on this test so should only be considered lightly though Eysenck is known to have not been so hot with the psychoticism level. The other two scales are more accurate I think!

      Like

  2. I got:
    Extroversion (sociability) |||||||||||||||||| 71%
    Neuroticism (emotionality) |||||||||| 37%
    Psychoticism (rebelliousness) |||||| 28%

    Extroversion results were high which suggests you are overly talkative, outgoing, sociable and interacting at the expense too often of developing your own individual interests and internally based identity.

    Neuroticism results were moderately low which suggests you are relaxed, calm, secure, and optimistic.

    Psychoticism results were low which suggests you are overly kind natured, trusting, and helpful at the expense too often of your own individual development (martyr complex).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. a fun quick one you can do is Ulla Zang (pick which of 9 images appeals to you most);

    I too find these exercises useful as part of a wider, and ongoing, reflection, but also recognise that the outcomes of them tend to change over time – however, some of the more ‘light touch’ ones can be very useful in catalysing honest and powerful conversations between groups of people who work together: for example, I once worked with a Board of charity Trustees who didn’t seem to be able to get along at all, did the Belbin team roles with them as an open exercise and found the likely root of the conflict – of the 9 of them, 8 were trying to be the Chair, while the remaining 1 as a Completer/Finisher, was desperate for someone to give them something to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D K Powell says:

      Completely agree Adrian! These kind of things are surprisingly accurate and lead to good discussions on the whole. Anything that leads to better understanding of yourself and others has to be be good in my book. The Myers-Briggs test, Bono’s Hats and the EPQ etc are all very helpful in that respect. Of course, when they don’t help, they need ditching.

      Like

  4. Yay! I got the martyr complex too! [not really, but it’s a laugh!]
    I am at the other end of your diagonal!
    Extroversion 37% results were moderately low which suggests you are reclusive, quiet, unassertive, and private.
    Neuroticism 27% results were low which suggests you are very relaxed, calm, secure, and optimistic.
    Psychoticism 41% results were moderately low which suggests you are, at times, overly kind natured, trusting, and helpful at the expense of your own individual development (martyr complex).
    These tests are fun to take but imho are only chips of truth. I mean I am aware of my introversion but the rest is a bit Procrustean, is it not?
    Cheers co-martyr! šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • D K Powell says:

      I think that sounds a lot like I know of you Marina! I don’t think any test can fully explain you but they can be helpful to see patterns you couldn’t see before. The Myers-Briggs explained to me my ‘immature introvert’ self and why it comes out sometimes. Up until then I thought I was going mad! It really helped me understand a little more about myself.
      This test is very simple but has been around a long time. It’s not bad for a check-up as long as you don’t come away depressed and miserable because of it. Even the website itself says it’s worth doing the tests several times to get a real sense of where you are!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. renxkyoko says:

    I took the test. 59% Extraversion, 27% neuroticism, 26 % psychoticism

    Liked by 1 person

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

