Why we need to embrace the Global Village – TEDx video now online

The title says it all – my TEDx video has finally come online and I’m delighted to share it with you guys here on my blog.

I go this a way, I go that a way... (photo: Gary McKeating)

I go this a way, I go that a way… (photo: Gary McKeating)

The production team – Entilent Media – did a fantastic job and taking my ramblings and making them look like I knew what I was doing. Val Morgan and her team were also very lovely to work with on the day. They were the ones who should have been stressed and snappy as it was vital they got all the equipment set right and camera angles perfect. Instead they were very sweet and nothing was too much trouble for them. Val put us all at ease and is one of the nicest people I’ve had the privilege to work with.

Our amazing and lovely video director Val Morgan (photo: Gary McKeating)

Our amazing and lovely video director Val Morgan (photo: Gary McKeating)

Anyway, now you can see the video for yourself and judge what you think. Did they do a good job? More importantly, please share the link far and wide if you are in agreement with the message. I would really love it if this presentation was a small part of a wave of people promoting Bangladesh in a positive light. My heart-country and people have taken a battering in recent years and I would so dearly love to see that change.

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why we need to embrace the Global Village – TEDx video now online

  1. Beparvah !! says:

    Congratulations…
    So glad to learn so many things from your blog🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. renxkyoko says:

    I clicked on the video and nothing. It says ” An error occurred. Please try again later. ”

    Later , I tried again, same result.

    Like

  3. Kodus Miah says:

    A beautiful blog of a wonderful experience of a non Deshi who lives to tell such a beautiful story of such beautiful people who make the head lines for the wrong reason…. I admire anyone that works in a third world country to bring good. Myself I have been there twice this year and every time was exhilarating and I have so many fond memories that will stay with me for the rest of my life. Keep up the good work

    Liked by 1 person

    • D K Powell says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I too have been back twice this year and, apart from restrictions on bideshis which was not so nice, also found it exhilarating. There is no doubt in my mind that Bangladesh is where my heart lies. Best wishes to you Kodus!

      Like

  4. I knew it was going to be an amazing piece! You did so well! Well done! I enjoyed watching this very much!

    Liked by 1 person

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

