A busy Bangla month!

My goodness the last few weeks have been crazy!

After the successful launch of my book ‘The Old Man on the Beach’, soaring to #1 on Amazon for Kindle books and to #31 for paperback books a few days later, I’ve been very busy speaking at a number of events (not all of them planned as you’ll see).

Firstly I was invited by the Bangladeshi community of Oldham to give a short speech at their ‘I Love Bangladesh’ evening event. The evening was celebrating the courage and tenacity of the first Bangladeshis who came over to the UK decades ago, at a time where their reception was frosty and often they had very little English language abilities, to do the jobs we didn’t have enough people to do. About 40 awards were given out to ‘the elder’ and a beautiful presentation of their memorabilia, photos and poems was put on display.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With so many speeches (including from the local mayor) mine was very short but I was still able to give homage to these amazing people who grew a wonderful community out of nothing and have enriched British culture in doing so.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Soon after, I shot down to London with some of the family in tow. Dropping them with friends in Gloucester, I went on to meet up with friends, clients and fans (including two absolute little cuties who must officially be my youngest and most favourite fans! You can see them here reading both my books!) before then heading to the NTV studios to record a show with Abul Hasnath.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After recovering from that, I was delighted to take a trip to Rochdale yesterday for my first ever celebration of the Bangla New Year – Pohela Boishakh – in the UK. Long-term readers will recall I’ve posted many a time about the Pohela Boishakh celebrations I loved so much at LAMB, my NGO in Bangladesh. If you want to know a little more about the origins of this celebrations (or just look at the pictures!) click HERE for my last Boishakh in Bangladesh.

I had intended to simply be an observer at the event in Rochdale but it would seem that I am now a recognisable personality (at least in some parts of the north!) and before I knew it, I was cajoled into giving a short speech about my experiences of life in Bangladesh. I think really I was just there to make the mayor look good when he gave his speech after me! Yes folks, it seems I’m available to be a warm-up act for mayors!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After all this excitement, I now get to look forward to seeing the show I recorded in London aired tonight (Saturday 15th April 2017 – if you’re reading this waaaaay in my future!) on NTV – channel 838 if you’re interested and live in the UK or Europe. It’s on at midnight so I’m recording it (most Bangladeshis are still awake at this time of night so it’s a good time to air!) but I shall be watching it tomorrow morning to see if I flumped or trumped! If I don’t look a complete dork and sound worse I’ll post up the link to Youtube where I believe the recording will end up so that those of you outside the UK can watch it too should you wish. If I do sound dreadful though, I’m going to let it disappear without a murmur…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With thanks to Mina Ahmed, Elysian Photography, Murad Photography, the team at ILB, Abul Hasnath and NTV studios for the use of their photos.

Writer and journalist D K Powell is the author of the bestselling collection of literary short stories “The Old Man on the Beach“. His first book, ‘Sonali’ is a photo-memoir journal of life in Bangladesh and has been highly praised by the Bangladeshi diaspora worldwide. Students learning the Bengali language have also valued the English/Bengali translations on every page.

Both ‘The Old Man on the Beach’ and ‘Sonali’ are available on Amazon for kindle and paperback. Published by Shopno Sriti Media.

D K Powell is available to speak at events (see his TEDx talk here) and can be contacted at dkpowell.contact@gmail.com

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, community, Culture, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

