On Being a Brit in Bangladesh (and back!) | Life in Russia

“I really wasn’t much of a traveler – I couldn’t even find Bangladesh on the map! I had never been to Asia before and had no idea what Bangla culture would be like. I found out that Bangladesh has the seventh largest population in the world despite a land mass less than the UK and that 70% of Bangladeshis are poor, live in rural village communities and depend on the land to live. It’s a fragile existence. I made the mistake of thinking that ‘poor’ must equal ‘unhappy’ and figured I was going there to make life better for Bangladesh.

How wrong I was.”

via On Being a Brit in Bangladesh (and back!) | Life in Russia.

I was invited to guest post on Life in Russia yesterday and made quite a few new friends in the process. Why not go over and have a look and visit Steve’s blog? He puts up some wonderful stuff about Russia – a lot is just mind-blowing! Happy new year everyone 🙂

 

About D K Powell

British freelance journalist, author, writer, editor, musician, educational consultant. I lived with Wifey, Thing I (daughter) & Thing II (son) in Bangladesh for 5-6 years working for an NGO called LAMB. Wifey led the Hospital Rehab department and I used to teach O levels at the school before going full-time as a freelance writer in 2013. Now we're back in the UK learning how to be British again. When not writing or editing, I'm busy trying to complete a Masters degree in Intercultural relations in Asian Contexts and reading way too many books at once. I also drink tea - lots of it.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh, British, Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Being a Brit in Bangladesh (and back!) | Life in Russia

  1. Pingback: Counting Blessings | kenthinksaloud

  2. religionmatahari says:

    I made the mistake of thinking that ‘poor’ must equal ‘unhappy’ and figured I was going there to make life better for Bangladesh.

    How wrong I was.”…

    Like

  3. Pingback: Remind me again, why did I come back? | kenthinksaloud

  4. Pingback: Back to Blighty | kenthinksaloud

  5. Ruby Tuesday says:

    Well that was something to make me cry. I cannot imagine what it is for you and for your family. Just take one breath at a time, and you’ll find your way. xo

    Like

Over to you! What do YOU think? Comment here...

